Making Myths – DWAS event 1st June

myth makers

I’ve never been to a Doctor Who Appreciation Society event, so really didn’t know what to expect from their Myth Makers event at the Riverside Studios on June 1st.  I have to say it was a fantastically fun happening, and I spent the whole day smiling.

Phillip Hinchcliffe encapsulates all that is his 1970’s Gothic production.  Calmly spoken and gentlemanly yet with a piercing stare that you felt was clarifying the fawning thoughts that fell from your mouth.

“I, I, I know you must hear this all the time Mr Hinchcliffe, but, Doctor, Leela, like parents to me, but thank you, thanks” I stammered to him.

“I know, I know” he said gently as his gaze moved me aside from the autograph queue like a master of the dark arts – surely the inspiration for Professor Snape!

Derek Sherwin and Terrance Dicks on the other hand came across like a Doctor Who themed Muppet Show, taking on the roles of heckling audience members Waldorf and Statler.  Although polite throughout, some of their exchanges had hidden barbs.

DS – Of course I cast Jon Pertwee.  And do you know, he always learnt his lines and was always polite

TD – You were only there at the beginning Derek, He was an actor, and an ego.  He never learnt his lines and being in his company consisted of Jon telling stories and everyone else laughing appropriately and not saying anything!

DS – Sounds like a description of you Terrence!

I have to say I learnt a few new facts about the Pertwee era I was surprised by concerning decisions of the earth based UNIT era and the fact the interviewer was made redundant by Terrance leading proceedings made for an excellent show.

The highlight of the day for me was Mike Tucker who took us verbally into a modern day Doctor Who production meeting and the decisions to use model  or CG shots can affect the time of day live action is shot (night is easy for models as they don’t need a complex background, but a night shoot would need specific resources for the cast and crew)

In the bar of the studios was the well managed autograph queue.  From the queue looking into the bar was a surreal experience.  It was like a living version of one of those murals in a 90’s bar of famous people  –  Marilyn, James Dean, Hendrix and Sinatra, that kind of thing.  The only difference here was that this was reality, and I was watching Terrence Dicks enjoying a glass of white wine with Graham Harper as he poured a pot of tea, Nick Briggs rushed across to great Colin Baker.  It was like an out of body experience!

On entering the bar I said to my pal I wanted to buy Adrew Cartmel’s book, I wonder were I can get it.  “here” said a voice.  I looked to my right to see a man selling only Andrew Cartmel’s book unassumingly at a round table drinking a Gin & Tonic.

“Great” I said “I’ll have one” as I handed the book seller his money

“Shall I sign it?” asked the tradesman

“Yes please” I replied.

After all this hard working and friendly chap was Andrew Cartmel !

What can I say, the event was sensational.  I was recognised by one of the DWAS officials as Rev from The Diddly Dum Podcast,  which made me think.  Whatever level of Doctor Who you’re involved with,  from watching it, to making it to talking about it to those watching it, we are all part of the myth that is Doctor Who.  What a glorious thing to be part of! I’ll be back for another DWAS do, and that’s a fact.

One comment

Leave a comment